Home » » Public Meeting Commemorating Martyrdom of Multai Farmers on Occasion of Shahid Diwas

Public Meeting Commemorating Martyrdom of Multai Farmers on Occasion of Shahid Diwas

Written By Krishna on Monday, January 07, 2013 | 2:01 AM

Kisan Sangharsh Samiti invites you all to
Public Meeting Commemorating Martyrdom of Multai Farmers on Occasion of Shahid Diwas
Date : January 12, 2013 | Venue : Multai, Dist. Betul, MP
On January 12th, 1998 Madhya Pradesh police opened fire on farmers of Multai demanding better compensation from the Digvijay Singh Government after crop failure due to rain and cold. The incident resulted in death of 24 farmers and injury to 150 farmers.
After more than 14 years Dr. Sunilam, Suryavanshi Parmandal and Prahlad Agarwal were sentenced for life on charges of murder, arson and others on October 18th by the Multai Trial Court. Madhya Pradesh Government charged them for the murder of a fire brigade driver Sarnam Singh in the incident.
The core issue of farmer’s killing has been completely ignored by the MP Government to such an extent that not even a single FIR was registered against those officials who ordered the firing. In last 9 years BJP government has withdrawn nearly 1,75,000 cases against its own workers but has failed to do any justice to the farmers of Multai, who not only lost their dear ones but also didn't get any justice till date and are having to go to court on every hearing. Many of these farmers are already dead in fact. 
Every year on this day activists from across the country have been gathering and standing in solidarity with the farmers of Multai and families of the farmers who gave their life in struggle. This year too on occasion of Shahid Diwas we are gathering there and we invite you all to join us for the same. 
Some of the people who have already confirmed their participation are following : Dr. B D Sharma, MedhaPatkar, Gen (Retd) V K Singh, Alok Agarwal, Yudhveer Singh, Sunil Bhai,Sandeep Pandey, Prafulla Samantara, Vinod Singh, Anurag Modi, Madhuri Krishnaswamy, Gabriele Dietrich, Vilas Bhongade, Rajiv Bhrigukumar, Manjoo Mohan, Putul Kumari, Ramakrishna Raju, Chitranjan Singh, Anil Chuadhary, Vimal Bhai, Yogesh Diwan, Rajkumar Sinha, Arun Tyagi,Com. Vijay Sen, and many other activists from different parts of the country are joining the meeting that day. This is not a complete list and we are still in the process of getting confirmations from people. So, please do send your names and pass on this information to others.
We do hope that like every year you will join us this year too in Multai.
Organised by : Kisan Sangharsh Samiti – NAPM
Contact : Aradhna Bhargava9425146991 | Guddi 09869059860 | Seela 09212587159
Share this article :

Post a Comment

Copyright © 2013. ToxicsWatch, Journal of Earth, Science, Economy and Justice - All Rights Reserved
Proudly powered by Blogger